mei's diary

i did a jigsaw puzzle because i was so sad

Image

The puzzle.

Last week, I found a 1000-piece puzzle in the recesses of my closet while I was cleaning up. It's probably at least 15 years old. If I were to speculate why I had this on hand, I would assume that I either:

  1. Was gifted it by a well-meaning relative who thought I was more sophisticated or focused than I was.
  2. Saw it and asked to buy it, because I thought I was more sophisticated or focused than I was.

Option 1 is more likely only because if it were Option 2, I'm sure kid!me would have gone for something like a Pokemon puzzle. Either way, I did not have the focus or patience to do something like a 1000-piece puzzle as a child. It's freaking hard! It took me two afternoons, and I'm an adult!

Anyway, I called in to work for two days because I just felt like I needed a break to decompress. I had a visa appointment I was trying to pull some documents together for, but ultimately got overwhelmed and canceled it, then felt bad about that. There was a mildly stressful interaction with a loved one that left me with a few more answers as to why I am so anxious as a person. And finally, I just physically couldn't stand to be at work, even remotely – I can't bring myself to do the meaningless tasks I have to do, but I feel bad getting paid for milling about.

So I did this instead. I have to say, it was really therapeutic. It's missing some pieces, as you can see, and I gave up on the border because I got frustrated about the missing pieces, but it had a chokehold on my attention for two days. I'm quite happy with how well it drew me out of my funk.1


My initial reason for pulling out the puzzle was to give myself and a friend something to do if they came over and hung out. Sometimes it's hard to talk if you're not doing anything else with yourself or your hands – that's why so many friend hangs are done over meals or drinks or activities, like errands. I particularly love the idea of the errand hang, which Misu writes about here, and wanted to emulate that balance of "something to do + not much prep" with the puzzle.

But now I'm wondering if I should buy more puzzles even if just for me, since I liked this so much. I hesitated when I first had this thought, because my next was, "well, where will I put the finished puzzles?" – the one I did is just laying on the floor until I decide to clean it up. I don't particularly want to frame them either. My instinct was that it would be a waste to do if I didn't preserve the final product somehow, to have something to show for what I put into it.

That's not the point though, is it?

I'm starting to realize how important it is for me to have hobbies that aren't quite so idea-based: less thinky, more worky. I need to do things I like for the process and not for the output. Most of my hobbies are output-based and it's clear to me that it's not done a good job of getting me out of my head. Something like a jigsaw puzzle is good for me, and I shouldn't poison it with the idea that something's only worth doing if I can point to it forever as evidence I'm not wasting my time on god's green earth.

Of course, I should probably take into account my fear of finishing things – I always like having something to do, like knowing that I can go back and change things, like the safety of undone. But this isn't about that, I think... I hope. I'll ponder it a bit more before I buy another puzzle. For now, I'll just consider it a win that I found a new way to get myself unstuck.


  1. Also, I realized the day after that a lot of the insanity was just hormones. I should have known.

#daily #insanities