mei's diary

it's a! duck blur!

I made friendship bracelets for the Eras Tour last February1 and found I really enjoyed making them – I must have made over 30 bracelets in three days. I guess I no longer have a "reason" to spend money on beads to make free bracelets with anymore, but it was nice doing something with my hands kind of mindlessly, so I bought some more beads anyway. The return on this investment is me having fun!

The beads came in yesterday – green and yellow ones, colors I was missing the first time I bulk-ordered – so I put on Ducktales (2017) and set up shop on my bed after dinner last night.

I didn't order any new letter beads, which might have been a mistake because the last time I made bracelets, we were hard pressed to find any more Es. This significantly limited the number of fun song titles or lyrics we could put on our bracelets... I wish I could have swapped out all the Qs and Zs we weren't using with more Es.

Despite this, I managed to make a few bracelets last night!

  1. A mostly green one, for a friend – they wanted the word "hikari" (光, light) on it. I know Hikari is a name too, but not theirs (they are half-Japanese) so I was like, "is this... your girlfriend's name?" but no, it was not, LOL. They just like the word.
  2. A colorful one that says "babygirl" – I didn't want to try and think of any more song titles without the letter E in them so I just assembled the first non-E-having word I could think of.
  3. A black and gold one that says "bitch" – same reason as above.

(I honestly have no idea who my target audience is for bracelets #2 and #3. Maybe I'll just leave them somewhere for anyone to take.)

I probably would have made more, but I got distracted by how good Ducktales is. It's so well-animated, and very cute. I will admit that I started watching it for Danny Pudi, but I also knew Ben Schwartz (voice of Leo – the love of my life – in the 2018 TMNT cartoon) was another of the triplets2, so I knew going into the show that it would be a good cast, but then I kept coming across voices I recognized from other things.

Why the hell was the cast of this Ducktales reboot so stacked? They got David Tennant for Scrooge McDuck. Boggles the mind.

Image Image Image

I was so baffled by this cast I made a compilation of the characters + where I know the (voice) actors from. Like... ??????? I really do not recognize that many actors, and you've somehow put them all in the same cartoon.

Anyway, in lieu of making bracelets I idly sorted the letter beads, putting vowels and uncommon letters in special compartments, while keeping most of my attention on the show. Tonight I'll probably continue doing the same thing, and maybe in a few nights I'll find enough Es to make a bracelet for my friend Beetle.

My teaching program doesn't start back up for another month, so until then, this is about the most exciting thing that's going on with me, your unemployed friend. I know the time will pass quickly and before I know it, I'll be busy again and miss all the free time I have now, so I'm trying to strike a balance between doing the fun, exciting things I can't do once I am again a working girl3 and appreciating the quiet, ordinary things I also get to do, like make bracelets and binge Ducktales. We'll see which method of staving off the dread wins out by mid-May, I suppose!

(Life is like a hurricane...🎶)


  1. I brought them on my trip, but in the chaos of the concert day, I stupidly forgot to bring them to the concert venue! Thankfully, I was meeting up with family later that week, and my cousins and nieces took them off my hands.

  2. BY THE WAY, I had a crush on those three ducks way back when, as a youth watching House of Mouse. (I love a color-coded set of brothers.) The fact that 2/3 of them in this reboot are voiced by actors I now also have a crush on feels like a prank.

  3. I'm going to a film screening with my sister on Monday morning. Monday morning!

#daily #media